Anne L. Evans: Entrepreneur of the Year

Anne L. Evans: Entrepreneur of the Year

Chairman of Evans Hotels honored by California
Travel Industry Association on March 24, 2003

San Diego, California (April 2003) – Anne L. Evans, Chairman of Evans Hotels, was honored by the California Travel Industry Association (CalTIA) as its Entrepreneur of the Year on March 24, 2003.

CalTIA presented its 18th annual F. Norman Clark Entrepreneur of the Year award to Mrs. Evans during the association’s annual California Conference on Tourism, which was held at the San Diego Hilton Resort, March 23 to 26, 2003. The award honors the memory of F. Norman Clark, the late founder of Roaring Camp and Big Trees Narrow Gauge Railroad in Felton, California, and a key figure in the inception of CalTIA.

“Our company has been entrepreneurial since it was founded in 1953. The Bahia Hotel was the first commercial lessee on Mission Bay,” said Mrs. Evans, who as Chairman of Evans Hotels has developed and operated resort and commercial properties throughout Southern California, including the Catamaran Hotel, also on Mission Bay, and The Lodge at Torrey Pines in La Jolla. “The award speaks tremendously well of the spirited commitment and steadfast attention to quality of all of the employees of Evans Hotels.”

Anne Evans also served as Chairman of the Board of the Los Angeles Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco in 1997 and 1998. She is the former Chairman of the Greater San Diego Chamber of Commerce, as well as of the San Diego Convention and Visitor’s Bureau. She was voted the Hotelperson of the Year by the San Diego Hotel-Motel Association in 1994, and was named to the San Diego Business Hall of Fame by Junior Achievement of San Diego in 1991.

Mrs. Evans also has served on the board of numerous institutions, including the Scripps Institute of Oceanography, the San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation, the California State Board of Tourism since 1992, Price Enterprises REIT, and the UC San Diego Foundation. She was Chief of Protocol for San Diego Mayor Maureen O’Connor from 1987 to 1992.